Image

Hestia’s Compassion: Reflecting by Campfire

“Reflecting by Campfire″, Nick Milburn, 2009, Airbrush and Graphite on Foam Board

“Reflecting by Campfire″, Nick Milburn, 2009, Airbrush and Graphite on Foam Board

When Erica and I first reconnected, we spent many nights sharing truth over gently crackling campfire in her backyard. Nothing consumes the unconscious, facilitates trance, silences the ego, integrates the past, fertilizes the imagination, or makes possible the future… like a friendly campfire. Above, an early airbrush and graphite experiment from this time; below, excerpts from a stream of consciousness poem, “Laying in Your Studio”, from the same period.

… I am in your backyard
a fire is burning
we are taking turns feeding it sacrifices …

… I am in your backyard
a fire is burning
we take turns dancing with shadows
the almost full moon …

… I am sitting with your soul by a fire
speaking the unspoken
the sun sets
the moon rises …

… we are sacrificing pasts silently via fire
dancing barefoot
for all intents and purposes, naked
for all to see
the beauty of our divinity …

… I am bored with any form of spirituality
that doesn’t take into account natural, primal, instinctual ecstasy,
or at least gardening …

… I am sitting by a fire
taking turns with you being teacher and student
speaker and listener
drummer and dancer …

… sitting with you by a campfire
unsure sometimes whether we are in Dreamspace
or we are awake…

.. I am sitting with you by a campfire
i am standing with you in a tree …

… restless
sweating
overtired
overemotional
crying
we’re alive
we’re really experiencing this
and dreaming it
simultaneously,
that’s enough to bring the tears
I break down
I am falling in love
a gateway opens into the fortress of my being,
I am vulnerable
I do not know what will occur
I do not know if my heart will break again
if I allow myself to continue to let it open
I release
fear of what may come
I acknowledge vulnerability
I relinquish self doubt
I silence fearful thoughts
I close my eyes
I let the words come through …

… we are tying knots with rope
untying knots in backs
we are sitting by a campfire
sharing truths
are we awake? …

Leave a Reply

